Single Malt Scotch with Hats

duke of perthLast night I spent my birthday sampling single malt scotch at a Chicago scotch bar called the Duke of Perth.  Oddly enough, the bar also had both a goat and a hat, odd because the whole scotch thing came out of some comments made by Languagehat.

The goat I’m afraid was dead, (a mountain goat, I was told)  but the head was preserved on the wall wearing an American  sailor hat.  A matching moose deer head over the bar wears a Scottish police hat.

deer with hat

mountain goat

Don’t let me forget to say something about Ardbeg (no, I didn’t taste it).

5 Responses to “Single Malt Scotch with Hats”

  1. A.J.P. Crown Says:

    That looks like a great bar, Nij.

  2. Catanea Says:

    Excuse me, dear Nijma, but did you say the chap in the chequered hat (Scottish policeman’s or traffic warden’s hat?) is a moose? Umm…I suppose I am too susceptible to the “someone is wrong on the internet” thing, but, don’t moose have palmate antlers? Is it not some sort of deer? [horrifyingly, I thing – as a sometime Alaska resident, that I know something about moose; but very little about deer…? Still, it may give you a motive to return to the bar and engage the whiskey experts in conversation?
    Happy belated Birthday!
    x
    [the chap in the shades is great! he looks like the mascot of the Great Northern Railroad of my youth...]

    • Nijma Says:

      You got me there. I did have a headache the next morning, so maybe that’s what happened. Also my new netbook has displayed the black screen of death three times now, and I barely got my photos off while it was still somewhat coherent, so my proofreading is not as attentive as it should be, as I have to grab time on other people’s computers.

  3. Rob Says:

    That bar looks delicious. One of my favorite things to do is sample single malt scotch. That is the first time I discovered Lagavulin. Did you try any of that while you were there? I hope so, it’s excellent.

  4. Nijma Says:

    The single malts I sampled on this occasion were Talisker from Skye, Caol Ila from Isley, and Laphroaig from Isley, but Cragganmore from Speyside remains my peak single malt experience.

    Here’s the description:

    http://camelsnose.wordpress.com/2009/06/09/sampling-peaty-malts/

    Lagavulin (from Wikipedia):

    Lagavulin Single Malt is a single malt Scotch whisky produced at Lagavulin on the island of Islay. It has a powerful, peat-smoke aroma. It is described as being robustly full-bodied, well balanced, and smooth, with a slight sweetness on the palate….In the 19th century, several legal battles ensued with their neighbour Laphroaig, brought about after the distiller at Lagavulin, Sir Peter Mackie, leased the Laphroaig distillery. It is said that Mackie attempted to copy Laphroaig’s style.

    Sounds very nice.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.