Winter Solstice

As always, they’re clickable.  For more images here are links to  last year’s solstice images and NASA’s Astronomy Picture of the Day. And now that we’re in Capricorn, the sign of the goat, don’t forget to check your horoscope at Bob Brezsny’s Free Will Astrology (and he’s put back his delightful “sacred advertisements”).

4 Responses to “Winter Solstice”

  1. canehan Says:

    Nijma: Where do the photos come from ? For example, I’d like to know who the artist is of solstice7.jpg, on the bottom left of the display.

  2. Nijma Says:

    At this point I don’t remember where I got everything. If you google “winter solstice image” and look at the first 50 pages that come up, you should be able to find most of them. By rights I suppose I should have contacted each individual website, researched whether the image was under any copyright, and gotten permission to use the image, in which case this post would have been written at summer solstice instead. If someone recognizes one of their images I would be happy to credit them. That particular image I managed to delete from my desktop, along with several dozen others I looked at but ended up not using, but I’ve found it again at theyards.co.uk/candles.htm (I’ve edited it some).

  3. canehan Says:

    Thanks, Nij, that identifies the artist nicely. BTW, at Stonehenge about 300 people turned up on Dec. 21 to celebrate, but technically, because the solstice was after sunset, the celebration should have been after dawn on Dec. 22 – when another lot turned up and did their Druid thing.

    The authorities were nice, however, and let the first bunch on to the centre of the site to celebrate. it being a very cold snowy day (by our standards).

  4. Nijma Says:

    Sorry, yes, the artist’s name is Courtney Davis (I think–he seems to collaborate with other artists), but his websites are in disarray at the moment.

    When I was in England I did a sidetrip to Bath and Stonehenge — some year I’d love to see the ceremony.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.