The national debt clock: how many zeros in nine trillion?

This little gizmo continues to intrigue me. It’s a continually updating clock of the national debt. The thing has continued to update while stored as a draft post, no doubt due to some rudimentary programming principle I am unaware of.

The Outstanding Public Debt as of 07 Feb 2007 at 06:37:34 AM GMT is:
$ 8 , 6 9 8 , 3 4 9 , 2 8 6 , 5 6 7 . 0 2

I wanted an icon I could post on this site, but the guy that maintains the site does not want people posting icons. Instead he wants people to go to his site and get his political message. He does have some nice bar graphs with historical comparisons and he also shows the per capita public debt. The website is http://www.brillig.com/debt_clock/, but if he’s not giving out an icon, I’m not giving him a link.

The exact same national debt clock is also available at http://zfacts.com/p/364.html along with some other clocks, like a carbon clock to show per capita usage of fossil fuels. This site is nice enough to provide HTML code for people who want to display a clock on their website, but none of their clocks work with my sidebar widgets. What is the fascination with these clocks?

Of course, these clocks are based on some very public information. Here is a link to the government website that provides the “national debt to the penny”, and here is a link to the government website that provides a running total of the U.S. population.

5 Responses to “The national debt clock: how many zeros in nine trillion?”

  1. holdem Says:

    Your site has made me smile :-)

  2. Pari Says:

    This site is so… cool.
    I was writing these little facts on the human body, and the fact that I was writing was,
    Red blood cells may live for about 4 months circulating throughout the body, feeding the 6 trillion other body cells
    But then, I thought that it would be cool to write 6 trillion in digits. But, I didn’t know how. So, I checked so… many websites, and none of them gave me my answer. So then, I came to this website, and it told me! The other sites were all just Blah Blah Blah. And like what the other guy, Holdmen said, I totally agree with it.
    Your site has made me smile!
    So now, I can write…
    Red blood cells may live for about 4 months circulating throughout the body, feeding the 6,000,000,000,000 other body cells
    I have marked this site to my favorites!

  3. Nampa ID Real Estate Says:

    I have shown this national debt clock to several people when they come into my office. I expect shock but most of them have become desensitized. It is amazing what people are considering as normal anymore.

  4. Screw Obama Says:

    Does anyone remember when Obama said that he would have this to zero, by the end of next year? I’d love to see how, since all he’s done is spend.
    G.F.Y. Obama!(and it doesn’t mean Good For You)

  5. Nijma Says:

    Not gonna happen. It took Big Dawg his whole first term to pay down the debt the first George Bush left. GWB’s national debt is much bigger.


Comments are closed.