A new widget button: Astroweather

I’ve been waiting for this button.astro-weather-blue.png

When I was a graduate student, every month I used to pick up a free copy of Lightworks inside the outer door of the neighborhood bookstore near the campus. It has all sorts of astrological advice and advertisements, and features Guy Spiro’s Astroweather, which will show you times of planetary configurations throughout the day and explain what you can do about them.

It was nice to think that some of my frustrations might be due to the stars, or at least to something out of my control. I was particularly fascinated by the idea of the moon being “void of course” which I take to mean it’s not under the protection of a particular planet. In a world that values decisiveness and has any number of self-help books that will help you overcome procrastination, here was someone saying there are times when the cosmos does not want you to make decisions, and that you must wait until the proper time to start a new enterprise if you want it to prosper.

After I graduated I missed the little catalogue with the New Age art on the front, but of course everything has a website. Now after updating their website, they have thoughtfully provided a little button for people who want to link to the site.

UPDATE: 8-9-07 Guy Spiro’s Astroweather has not been updated for some time–since May 31, but no explanation was given on the website.  I left the widget up, though, since people do go on vacation this time of year, and its sister site, Lightworks, was also on hold. Now the Astroweather website is completely unavailable, so sadly I will take the button off of my sidebar. I hope Mr. Spiro is well.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

UPDATED UPDATE: Mr. Spiro is indeed well and is writing again |here|. The Monthly Aspectarian is being published again too. And AstroWeather is now available in Chinese as well.  I bet there’s a story behind that.

Related posts:

~Potato-shaped asteroids guide my horoscope for the week–is this Pluto’s fault?>
~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2 Responses to “A new widget button: Astroweather”

  1. Nijma Says:

    That is just too funny. I love the little disclaimer.

    I did try asking it a yes/no question, then an open-ended question. I was hoping for a computer-generated sentence, possibly stilted or unintelligible in an amusing way. The value of the device seems to be in getting people to think of options. Or in the coin-toss.

    My husband used to take out a coin when anyone had a hard time making a decision. If they still hesitated after the coin-toss, he would ask if they wanted to try for two out ot three.


Comments are closed.