Separating the Sheep from the Goats–the sheep get eaten, but not today

A friend of mine who likes to describe himself as a “born-again pagan” is fond of saying, “When they separate the sheep from the goats, the sheep get eaten.”

If you don’t recognize the biblical reference, I think it’s from Matthew. That was certainly a true culinary observation when I lived in the Middle East. I ate plenty of sheep, camel on rare occasions, and beef never, although I did see a few cows. I probably had a lot of cheese from goats, though, and once drank a warm lumpy milk from a goat–someone told me later the goat had probably just given birth and the first lumpy milk was considered a treat.

Today Pete’s Market, in six locations citywide, is offering “fresh assorted goat” for $1.89/a pound.

I wonder if this will precipitate some sort of crisis somewhere in New Testament Thought.

One Response to “Separating the Sheep from the Goats–the sheep get eaten, but not today”

  1. Winslie Gomez Says:

    Funny thought!
    Thanks :)


Comments are closed.