Political videos THEY don’t want you to see

For anyone who is a political junkie and doesn’t have time to look at all the candidates’ websites to see what is hot this week, techpresident.com reviews all the latest political web moves, including videos.

Worth seeing in this group are Andy Cobb’s robotic message to Ralph Nader and Aimee Allen’s goth Ron Paul video. They also have links to the recent viral Obama videos.

At least one of the writers, Michael Turk, is a well-known former GOP employee. Maybe that’s why the website doesn’t mention two other fun political videos.

The sequel to the Obama “Yes You Can” video from billionairesforbush.com is titled, “No You Can’t- No Se Puede.” An equally fun and over the top video from the Onion is “Diebold Accidentally Leaks Results of 2008 Presidential Election Early”. Oh, uh, yes, election results spoiler warning.

hat-tin-foil-smiley.gif     hat-tin-foil-smiley.gif     hat-tin-foil-smiley.gif

6 Responses to “Political videos THEY don’t want you to see”

  1. Turk Says:

    While I’m a contributing author for TechPresident, I’m not at all responsible for other authors’ content.

    You make me out as someone who would quash any anti-GOP sentiment, but it’s clear you haven’t spent much time reading my stuff.

    I’m generally harder on myself than anyone else, and that attitude extends to my critiques of my party. While some would relegate such conversations to private reflection, I think we’re better served by a very frank and very public discussion of what we’re doing – right or wrong.

  2. Nijma Says:

    That was fast. Only seven hours since I put this online and already Mr. Turk has googled himself and found it.

    But what about those mysterious “other authors” Mr. Turk alludes to? Could they be shadowy mysterious GOP figures–and more to the point, are they even now sitting in some clandestine little back room being amused by the videos.

  3. Turk Says:

    Well, if you want to see who “THEY” are. and what THEIR backgrounds are, feel free to click the “About” link. It’s a pretty standard feature on most sites and will generally tell you who is responsible for it.

    In this case, http://www.techpresident.com/node/8 gives you everything you need to know. There are several Republicans (of which I am one) and a bunch of Democrats.

    Josh Levy, the author of the post you cited, is an avid Democrat. I don’t know whose side he’s on in the Clinton/Obama split. You can also check him out on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=501483492.

    As for the rapid response, it’s called Google Alerts. You should look into it. Wonderful tool.

    Thanks for the awkwardly conspiratorial recognition, at any rate. And keep up the good work on the blog.

  4. Nijma Says:

    I do love conspiracies, but it’s all tongue-in-cheek. I think.

    Thanks for the additional info about your group. Yours was the only name I recognized, so I figured it for GOP, but I see it’s more complicated than that.

    I don’t object to reading anything with a point of view–in fact, it’s pretty hard to find something without bias. The important thing is to identify the bias and try to read something from another type of source to balance it.

    I try to write without bias, but I don’t think it’s really possible. As you can see from my widgets, I have linked to both a progressive mosque that includes women in its spirituality and a not-so-progressive Arab cartoonist that got kicked off a not-so-progressive Jordanian newspaper. I have a serious conservative terror-alert as well as anti-establishment and anti-torture slogans. Some of the widgets I am barely comfortable with, but I think it’s important to listen to a variety of sources. Up to a point. You will not find a Ron Paul button here anywhere.

    Thanks too for the tip about the Google Alerts feature. I recently discovered Google Reader (which is how I came upon your blog) and I wouldn’t be without that. The Alert feature will come in handy someday when I am as famous as you and can have my own “About” link.

  5. Turk Says:

    If I am what counts as famous these days, I weep for us all. Seriously, I hope that’s not true in even a small way. :-)

  6. Nijma Says:

    Anyone who blogs with their own name is more famous than me–but I’m just not ready to give up the day job. Internet fame might seek me out anyhow, though. Even though I have never taken even one computer class, I was just approached to teach a computer literacy/ESL course. Next week. Accckk!

    And someone who is Republican in 2008 and posts smilies has to be secretly depressed. So, since Mr. Turk seems to have an affinity for conspiracy themes, I’ve put some nice tin foil hat smilies in the original post to cheer him up.


Comments are closed.