Jordan’s Queen Rania on YouTube: “Ask me your stereotypes about Arabs”

“Change begins within each one of us, in our willingness to reach out to each other.”

The following is an unofficial transcript of Queen Rania’s YouTube message:

rania3y.jpgIn a world where it’s so easy to connect to one another, we still remain very much disconnected. There’s a whole world of wonder out there that we cannot appreciate with stereotypes, so it’s important for all of us to join forces, come together, and try to bring down those misconceptions.

raniayoutube.jpgI’ve been surprised by some of the questions that I’ve been asked about the Arab world and the Middle East: do all Arabs hate Americans, can Arab women work, are there any YouTubers in Jordan. If what most people know about the Arab world and Arab people they’ve known through programs like 24 and Jack Bauer, then I think they’re in for a very big surprise.

rania6y.jpgYouTube is a great platform for a dialog and I believe that we need to use these tools in order to get those messages out there.

From now until August the twelfth, which is international youth day, I hope to be receiving from YouTubers some of the questions they have and some of the common stereotypes they have hear about the Arab world and I’ ll try to break them down one by one and address them.

I’ll also be encouraging YouTubers to help me out to address these common stereotypes, so I’ll be relying on your skills and your creativity so that we can all get this right.

rania1y.jpgI want people to know the real Arab world, to see it unedited, unscripted, and unfiltered, to see the personal side of my region, to know the places and faces, and the rituals and cultures that shape the part of the world that I call home.

3 Responses to “Jordan’s Queen Rania on YouTube: “Ask me your stereotypes about Arabs””

  1. Ghada Says:

    Your Majesty, I have read what you said “Change begins within each one of us, in our willingness to reach out to each other.” and I really hope you can reach out for me cause I do need your help desperatly… I beg you don’t let me down and ignore my request

  2. Nijma Says:

    What request, Ghada? What is it you would like to see a Queen do?

  3. Anonymous Says:

    this is retarted


Comments are closed.