Obama Assassination: is it Hillary that is spreading this meme?

I have written before about the whole Obama assassination rumor thing, pointing out that it is a dangerous game being played by those who claim to be his strongest supporters. I wasn’t going to contribute to what I said was a problem by putting it out there into the blogosphere any more, but the latest assassination bru-ha-ha is just too much.

What are the facts?

Here are the comments Hillary Clinton made at an interview with the editorial board of the Argus Leader in South Dakota:

HILLARY CLINTON: ….people have been trying to push me out of this ever since Iowa, …

ARGUS LEADER: Why?….

HILLARY CLINTON: I don’t know,…

ARGUS LEADER: ….why?…..

HILLARY CLINTON: ….I don’t know….I don’t …I find it curious, because…it is unprecedented in history. I don’t understand it, you know between my opponent and his camp and some in the media there has been this…urgency to end this, and you know, I … historically that makes no sense, so I find it a bit of a mystery..

ARGUS LEADER: You don’t buy the unity argument?

HILLARY CLINTON: I don’t. (crosstalk)….because again I’ve been around long enough, uh,… my husband did not wrap up the nomination in 1992 until he won the California primary, uhhh..somewhere in the middle of June..

ARGUS LEADER: …June…

HILLARY CLINTON: (crosstalk)…right?… We all remember Bobby Kennedy was assassinated in June, in California, ah, I…I just don’t understand it. There’s lots of speculation about why it is, but ah,…

ARGUS LEADER: What’s your speculation?

HILLARY CLINTON: You know, I don’t know. I…I…I find it curious and I don’t want to, uh, attribute (laughs) motives or uh, strategies to people because I don’t really know…ahhh…but it is a historical curiosity to me.

ARGUS LEADER: Does that have anything to do with gender?

HILLARY CLINTON: I don’t know that either, I don’t know. You know, I’m not one to speculate on that because I …I think that uh, I want to be judged on my own merits and I think I am. But, uh, others have.

and |here| is a link to the video at the Argus Leader website so you can see for yourself.

At no time does Hillary talk about Obama. She is talking about historical presidential races that were still going on in June. I do indeed remember the RFK assassination–he died on my birthday, right as the school term was ending. The editors of the Argus Leader are probably old enough to remember that day too, some 40 years ago.

I don’t have to google it, I can remember the day. In June of 1968, RFK and several others were still running for the Democratic nomination.

The Obama campaign fired back, “Sen. Clinton’s statement before the Argus Leader editorial board was unfortunate and has no place in this campaign.” Clinton issued an apology that referenced not wishing to offend the Kennedy family at a time when Senator Teddy Kennedy has just received bad news about his health.

But the Obama surrogates didn’t want to make this about the length of the campaign or about the Kennedy family. In case there was any doubt, Keith Olberman of MSNBC, which long ago gave up any pretense of impartial election coverage and is being boycotted by Clinton supporters, went on a bizarre dramatic rampage .

Those words, senator, you actually involked the nightmare of political assassination…

You actually involked the spector of political assassination…

You actually invoked the spector of an inspriational leader at the seeming moment of triumph for a battered nation yearning to breathe free silenced forever….

You actually used the word assassination…

Oh, my. Olberman–who objects to the Hillary’s use of the word “assassination” in an interview by an obscure newspaper in a backwater state–actually repeats the word twelve times more during a mainstream media broadcast that will be seen by millions and picked up by millions more on Google.

Olberman is the one who, in the guise of the “concerned” commenter, is spreading the meme about Obama and assassination. Olberman has jumped the shark.

If only Olberman could get that outraged about the “b-word”.

One Response to “Obama Assassination: is it Hillary that is spreading this meme?”

  1. jackiemackie Says:

    Paranoid, are we?


Comments are closed.