Thinking about OpenOffice.org? Just say no

Looking for information about the differences between Microsoft Office 2000 and the XP version ( XP can only be used on one computer and needs a registration key at the Microsoft website), I came across several comments about the free and open source OpenOffice.org. programs.  The writer program is said to be as good as Word.

All of that may be true, but….what they don’t tell you is that you can’t attach the file to a yahoo email.

3 Responses to “Thinking about OpenOffice.org? Just say no”

  1. chirax Says:

    Actually you can export it as a PDF and attach, right?

  2. Mike Says:

    I hadn’t heard of that issue before. Chirax’s comment may be a workaround.

    I’m not sure why Yahoo would block that type of file. Does it give you an error message or a warning of some kind?

  3. Nijma Says:

    I don’t remember any error message from Yahoo. I think it just went out to lunch and never came back (after 30 minutes or so).

    Here is the workaround suggested by a co-worker who uses Open Office regularly. When you save your document it will ask if you want to save it as a open office document (the default). Say no. It will then save as a Word document.

    The temporary workaround for me was to take my project to work and finish it on the computer there. It was a project for work in the first place–my philosophy is if you’re working off the clock to meet a deadline, it never hurts to do so visibly.

    The permanent workaround for me will probably be to install Microsoft Office. If Open Office is not that intuitive, I don’t have time to play with it right now.


Comments are closed.