How much is my blog worth?

When I first started this blog I ran across an interesting widget that put a value on a blog based on the number of sites linking to it. It was interesting at the time, but I’ve decided to retire the widget and remove it from the sidebar.

First of all, this blog isn’t about making money.  Plus it’s on WordPress.com, which prohibits moneymaking blogs. Oh, I know a few of us have a t-shirt or two for sale, but the references for those sales don’t come from the blog, they come from the drop ship company that manufactures them.

Second of all, that little widget is an advertisement for the business-opportunities.biz website, which has some interesting articles, but in all seriousness I’m not really into Search Engine Optimization.  The author of the site is, though, and his little widget gets him plenty of external links. I’m just not going to be one of those links anymore.

Last of all, I don’t really think the site is all that accurate.  When I first started the blog, it said I had just as much link mojo as I do now, when I know there are quite a few more links to me now, like from Reuters and stuff.

And  $4,516.32?  No, the blog isn’t worth that much. The author admits as much and says later studies indicate the value is more like a tenth of the amount used in the calculation. Oh, well, it was fun for a while.

Posted in Curiosities, Technology. Comments Off on How much is my blog worth?