Spiritual recordings for Ramadan 2008

A few days ago I started getting hits on a post I wrote a year ago for Ramadan. It had a lovely “dua” or prayer in Arabic.  But the dua‘s not there anymore –the website has been reorganized. Too bad.  I enjoyed the feeling of peace that emanated from the sound of the prayer and also the feeling of connection to Muslims during their holy season. The disappearance of the dua is a bit like the Hindu sand pictures that remind one of the impermanence of everything.

But Ramadan has come around again, I’ve got guidief in the frig, and I’m fasting today, so here are some picks for this year’s spiritual journey.

For anyone who is homesick for the call to prayer (note: link no longer active) (link is now active as of the first day of Ramadan 2009), here is the city of San’a, Yemen at sunset.

Sheik Abdul Kareem Edghouch reciting the Surat Al-layl( text in Arabic)–“The Night” (English interpretation of text) chapter of the Quran.

From a Pakistani site, a haunting female voice singing Sallu Aliyeh Waa Aleyeh (Mehnaz) in an eastern musical scale. And Madine Ko Jaye (Abdur Rufi), with a male voice, minor tones and strong percussion. If you like those, follow the “religious” subject line backwards and you will find the 99 names of Allah and the call to prayer from various world mosques.

Apparently fasting has its own correct prayers to go with it.  I have found the same formula prayers at two sources.  From the website hamdonaat.com:

Following is a compilation of Duas for Fasting (Ramadan)

– Dua for keeping a fast at the time of Sehar (Niyaat)

Wa bisawmi ghadinn nawaiytu min shahri ramadan

– Dua for breaking a fast at the time of Iftaar

Allahumma inni laka sumtu wa bika aamantu [wa ‘alayka tawakkaltu] wa ‘ala rizq-ika aftarthu*

OR

dhahabadh-dhama’u wab-tallatil ‘uruuqi, wa thabatal arju inshaAllah
Allaahumma inni as�aluka birahmatika al-lati wasi’at kulli shay�in an taghfira li

Dua for breaking a fast at a friends house

Aftara ‘indakumus saa’imuna, wa akala ta’aamakumul-abraaru, wasallat ‘alaikumul mala’ikat

I love it how this person puts both the Arabic and the transliteration together.

Or relax and just listen to this “Beautiful Ramadan Dua’a”–but she uses the Arabic L33T notation so you might not know the pronunciation unless you are familiar with this. I know 3 is the ein letter and I think 7 is the heavier H sound but I don’t know the rest. She also gives some more prayers she calls “authentic” like “Upon seeing the first dates of the season”.

For even more spiritual listening, Al-Hidaaya has a video supplication for every day of Ramadan.

4 Responses to “Spiritual recordings for Ramadan 2008”

  1. cedarlaneoholic Says:

    Hello Nijma,

    I read an old post of yours about AstroWeather and wanted to let you know it’s alive and well.

    http://GuySpiro.com

    He’s also started broadcasting on YouTube.

    http://AstroWeather.TV

    Best regards,

    Dailey

  2. Nijma Says:

    Thanks for the links, Cedar, I updated the post. I see he has Chinese language version now too. No wonder he was quiet for so long. He has a nice level voice, but he doesn’t smile with his eyes. I think I expected something more Merlinesque, maybe with lightening in the background. It’s nice to have him back.

    For those observing Ramadan, be careful with astrology, as it could be misinterpreted as idolatry, especially at this time. Even those who read it just as entertainment sometimes prefer more traditionally devout pursuits during Ramadan.

    For English students who just want to read an easy horoscope, I recommend the horoscope at Dogpile. For a more advanced horoscope, of course Bob Brezsny’s Free Will Horoscope (the same one in the sidebar widget) is always astonishing.

  3. MountainSong (Ashleigh) Says:

    A few weeks ago, something you said got my attention, so i started following your posts. I think you are an amazing woman and you still hold my rapt awareness. I am learning from you.

  4. Nijma Says:

    Thanks, Mountainsong, sometimes I write these just to collect my own thoughts, and sometimes I go off on a google journey from link to link and just want to put together all the information I find along the way. Glad someone else is enjoying it too.


Comments are closed.