Stave churches in Thailand or Thai temples in Norway?

On a recent thread over at Language Hat, the usual off topic discussion somehow digressed to the subject of stave churches.  After I pointed out the similarity between Norwegian stave churches and Thai temples, I received the following in an Email from someone who identified himself as a Norwegian architect.

The whole thing started out some twenty years ago when I was comparing vacation photos with a friend who had just returned from a year-long trip that included Thailand.

I’m flattered that an architect thinks this is significant. My grandmother’s family came from Norway, and I have other ancestors from Sweden and Denmark, so of course I would love to think that the Kensington stone is not a fake and that the Vikings got as far as Samarkand and Timbuktu, even if the archaeological record isn’t there.

To see just the graphic with a little better resolution, |click here|. The URL is: https://camelsnose.files.wordpress.com/2008/10/pastedgraphic.png

One Response to “Stave churches in Thailand or Thai temples in Norway?”

  1. The Buddhist connection to Norway « Camel’s Nose Says:

    […] The Buddhist connection to Norway November 19, 2008 — Nijma Am I the only person on the internet interested in the connection between the Norwegian stavkirke and the Thai temple? […]


Comments are closed.