Rothko Seascapes

seascape-indian-ocean-by-siganus
Okay, that one wasn’t really by Mark Rothko, it was by Siganus Sutor, a Martian in the Indian Ocean. Here is some real Rothko.

rothko rothko-blu-and-rose rothko-blue rothko-mark-blue-and-grey rothko_blue seascape-sig2 rothko-chapel-houston-texas rothko-dark-greens-on-blue-with-blue-band seascape-sig3 seascape-sig4
Yes, I snuck in another one or two of Sig’s just to see if you could spot them.

14 Responses to “Rothko Seascapes”

  1. Siganus Sutor Says:

    Nijma, I would have some other paintings to send you. They could be fairly surprising when one looks at your choice of images above.

    • Nijma Says:

      Of course I would put them up, and yes I was sleeping and then I went to work. If you want me to do it, send them to camelsnosenijmaATyahooDOTcom.

      I see Kron has gone shopping; maybe I will go shopping too.

      Of course, if you had your own place, that you can get for free at wordpress.com, you could put them up any time, when we are all sleeping.

      • Siganus Sutor Says:

        I’ve tried, I promise you, but I don’t get it at all. How to organise the damn page is just as time-consuming as it is frustrating.

      • Nijma Says:

        What did you try, Sig? What was frustrating?
        Do you have a page that I can look at?

  2. Siganus Sutor Says:

    I’m afraid keeping a blog would take too much of my time. And there would still be the main question: what do I have to say which is worth hearing by everyone around? Even posting a comment sometimes…

    • Nijma Says:

      You don’t have to write every day. You don’t have to do anything. Look at Stuart’s blog–he only has one page. If you want, you can disable the comments.

      I think you only want to show photos sometimes. If you don’t feel like a blog, just email the photos.

  3. Siganus Sutor Says:

    Just surfing on the internet can already eat up a good deal of your precious time, which tends to flow down the waste pipe like nothing. It’s fairly easy to get addicted. Having your own blog would only get things worse. And if here and there, from time to time, someone seems willing to take one’s own ‘junk’, then… Well, it’s up to camelsnosenijmaATyahooDOTcom to see. No need to feel bound by anything.

    BTW, where did you get this picture of drying octopuses? It could very easily be on Mars, maybe Rodrigues.

    • Nijma Says:

      The octopus location is Misali Island, Pemba, Tanzania, in the Indian Ocean.

      Yes, the internet can soak up time, but it’s also one of the few things I really enjoy.

      I have been reading AJP’s description of me that appears when you mouse over Camel’s Nose in his blogroll, and have been chuckling as his description gets more and more general and he tries to decide exactly what it is I do here. Originally I started out wanting to write about the intersection of Arabs and culture, which would include stuff like food, religion, policy, and language, but my attention keeps getting diverted. So far I have just gone with it, and written about whatever is occupying my time at the moment.

      I envy Hat’s singleness of purpose, not to mention his effortless diplomacy, and also AJP’s ability to tell a good story in few words. I think both blogs have a focus which I haven’t found yet.

  4. A. J. P. Crown Says:

    There was an article in the Guardian recently about Rodrigues, they said it’s pronounced the French way, with two syllables instead of the Portuguese three, which I thought was a clever description of the difference. They thought it was a very nice ‘unspoilt’ place for a holiday — not that Mauritius sounds that spoilt. They said the Rodriguans aren’t too keen on rule from Mauritius at the moment, that they aren’t getting enough state money, or something.

  5. Siganus Sutor Says:

    Yes, check your e-mail. There are three ‘pages’ (not posts) that I can’t get out of limbo. Even Kron couldn’t help me on that, though he helped with many other problems.

    • Nijma Says:

      Yes, Sig, I have it, and you will have seen my replies by now as well. If that doesn’t work, let me know what theme you are using and I will set up the test blog the same way to try it out.

      The test blog now has several new examples of ways to do lists: 1) in a sidebar widget 2) in a page and 3) in a separate post with a link in the sidebar widget.

  6. Nijma Says:

    Sig, here is the link for the test blog again. I have it set up to show “Clins d’œil” or whatever it is as a “page” (not a post) and “Quatre-Bornes” as a nested page with “Clins d’œil” as the parent. The only way to find the photograph page is to use the “pages” sidebar widget (Appearances>widgets). You can see that on the test blog too. Other (free) options would be to put the photographs in a post or even in another blog.

    • Siganusk Says:

      It seems to be working: the pages and sub-pages have appeared on the right-hand side of the screen. Thanks Nijma.

      (Is there a way to sort out the order of these “widgets” in the right column?)

      • Nijma Says:

        Sig, I sent you an email.

        There is an option of sorting for pages, but you would have to play with it. You could also use an ordinary “text” widget and create a link to each one separately.

        I don’t know why you don’t just put everything in an ordinary post. Then the readers (and the search engines) can find them without poking around. You can also put categories and tags on posts to help search engines map your website. Then people who are looking for your information can find you easier.

        I don’t receive the new *pages* in my feedreader either, which is how I follow your blog. I do get comments for the *pages* the same as comments for the *posts*.


Comments are closed.