After the rain

This morning I woke up early to the sound of rain, but now the sun has come out.

You can already see a little slug damage on some of the hostas. They especially like the light green one.

striped hosta
hosta with slug damage

The slugs aren’t very big yet, and I couldn’t find any snails at all.

slug with hand1 slug closeup

I mowed the lawn yesterday, but there are still some mushrooms left.
mushrooms mushroom

A toad is supposed to be on mosquito duty, but it is sunning itself.  It is entirely motionless except for the nostrils which keep expanding.  I think it sees me.  When I turn my back for a moment, the toad avails itself of the opportunity to disappear, and hops into the daylilies.

There is a snake around here someplace, but I don’t see it today.  It was last seen disappearing under this foliage.

toad hosta snake habitat

2 Responses to “After the rain”

  1. A. J. P. Crown Says:

    Call those slugs? I’d need a magnifying glass. Very nice toad, though. Your hostas are gorgeous, I take back all I’ve said about hostas. I like the yellowy-green color, they’re usually darker green.

  2. Nijma Says:

    I’m afraid our flora and fauna is very ordinary. There is a new toad post, though.
    https://camelsnose.wordpress.com/2009/06/20/toad-that-under-cold-stone/
    I should do a hosta post sometime; hostas do very well here.


Comments are closed.