Toad, that under cold stone

The toad here doesn’t look particularly venomous, but I’m taking no chance on warts. This short (0:24) video is from last September:

This may or not be the same toad that came out yesterday after the rain.
IMG_0028

When I turned around for an instant, the toad disappeared, revealing quite a bare spot in the lawn.
IMG_0049

Did the toad sit there long enough to shade the grass and keep it from growing, did it find a bare spot there already and decide to sit in it for some reason (black soil=warmth?), or did the toad excrete something the grass doesn’t like, maybe acid? (Lawns like alkalai.)

I walked away for an instant and the toad was back in the same spot again. Would the kids find it there and bother it? I stood there looking at the toad as it flared its nostrils at me.  Finally it hopped off and found a hiding place.  Today the toad is gone completely.  Hopefully I made it nervous enough for it to survive another summer.
IMG_0033 IMG_0030

MacBeths’ witches had a toad around their caldron, but I had to look it up.

MacBeth Act IV, Scene 1, 6-11:

Toad, that under cold stone
Days and nights has thirty-one
Swelter’d venom sleeping got,
Boil thou first i’ the charmed pot.

Double, double toil and trouble;
Fire burn, and caldron bubble.

2 Responses to “Toad, that under cold stone”

  1. A. J. P. Crown Says:

    Your toad looks very much like our toad, Nij.

    • Nijma Says:

      Yours looks so groggy, I was surprised that it turned out to be so athletic. Mine will only move when it thinks I’m not looking. Yours is much smaller though, maybe half the size of mine.


Comments are closed.