A Walk

Let’s face it, I wouldn’t be very happy in paradise. What’s the old joke about winning something in Illinois–first prize: a week in Springfield, second prise: two weeks in Springfield. When I go camping, the first day I just decompress, the second day I toast marshmallows, and the third day I look at a map. I could never stand to live in one of the places that makes other bloggers’ walks look like something out of Heidi. No, my walks are in the gritty city and have plenty of character and flavor.

Here’s today’s walk: an hour out (taking pictures) and forty minutes back (with the camera batteries dead).IMG_0554

It starts out nicely enough, on a tree-lined, all-American street on the South Side.  There are some oddities, some houses that remind one of Malvina Reynolds’:

Little boxes on the hillside, Little boxes made of ticky tacky,
Little boxes on the hillside, Little boxes all the same.
There’s a green one and a pink one  And a blue one and a yellow one,
And they’re all made out of ticky tacky And they all look just the same.

IMG_0557

Then one comes to the railroad and must cross over by the secret path.

IMG_0564

Occluded by beebalm, Queen Ann’s lace, and fragrant alfalfa.

IMG_0573a


But we’re not in Arizona yet.  We still have to cross the old defunct railroad right of way and the utilities corredor with all the high voltage wires.

IMG_0571rr path

IMG_0576 electic wires

…until finally we arrive in Arizona, named for the treelessness of its landscape design.

IMG_0577

Finally we reach the lake.

IMG_0589map

There’s more, including animals, but it will have to wait for tomorrow.

But first, the best margarita in Chicago:

IMG_0604


4 Responses to “A Walk”

  1. Noetica on the run Says:

    Mmmm … I see Ulysses next to the margarita. What more could one ask for?

  2. Noetica Says:

    Arrived safely in Sydney, on a ridiculously early flight. Staying within a short stroll of THAT bridge. Awaiting your further instructions. Over.

  3. Nijma Says:

    O, hai.
    Instructions? Oh, those instructions. I was just looking at a product called Gelaskins that protect and decorate your electronic toys.

    The instructions, yes. It just so happens I have taught the “How to have a good time in Sydney” lesson more than once.

    Hmm, (re-reading the lesson) Lebanese cuisine, huh. It looks like Mustafa’s (gak, their website plays music) gets the best reviews and is closest to the Bridge, but is a bit pricey.

    But here’s where I would go. Berkelouw Books has both books and coffee. And oh, look at their schedule. The Leichhardt store on Norton Street has a philosophy group, apparently every night, and on Monday, August 3, a hoola hoop extravaganza. Oh, my, here’s the hoola hoop author on YouTube, and again (I’m pretty sure that’s her voice) here. Her book isn’t on Amazon, but here it is (or something awfully similar) on Lulu, apparently self published, for $22.50.
    Right about now I would be thinking about my bookstore habits and saying to myself, well, if I go to the hoola hoop thing I’ll end up buying the book so she can sign it–as a matter of fact, if I even go near a bookstore I’ll be eating spaghetti for the next month in order to pay for the inevitable compulsive behavior that would ensue. So then I might put my wallet back in my deepest pocket and just go for a walk on the beach. Or, as they say in Aus, “bushwalking”, huh. From Rough Guides, bushwalking in the Blue Mountains. And here’s some suggestions for shorter hikes in and near Sydney too.

    A lot of links for someone on the run, but you can pick and choose. Or not. Any questions?


Comments are closed.