My next project

This isn’t really my next project.  I just said that because I didn’t finish my last project due to procrastination (I did the bathroom walk-in closet instead, mildew and all), but if I say this is my next project, maybe I will finish my last project, which was bookshelves. Anyhow the next two days are going to be above 90°, so I have already gotten my walking exercise done for the next two days and am ready to lay low. So here is the “next” project:

backyard
The goose and whatnot have just been added. I was told there was no money for plants, but apparently plastic is no problem. The tire covers some kind of sewer lid of the same size.  Regular access with be needed for the meters on the left and for the window on the right. Both sides of the entry are the same size and I plan to do them as mirror images.

There is also a side yard, where I plan to put some hostas and jade next to the front step. Tomatoes and peppers, along with orange daylilies,  will probably go against the back fence, which has a southern exposure.  I’m debating about lining the sidewalk with irises and/or hostas–do I want plants and leaves next to the sidewalk with their possible hiding place for mosquitoes as I walk to my entry?

side yard
Here is what it might look like “after”. The taller jade and iris in the back, hosta in the middle and smaller variegated hosta in the border with a few impatiens filling in. I can never work with a drawing, though. I just have to put the plants out there and start moving them around until they look right.
backyard500px-after
I forgot to draw the stepping stones, a gray limestone color. Not quite sure what to do with the plastic goose.

3 Responses to “My next project”

  1. A. J. P. Crown Says:

    That looks great, Nij. But you’d better watch that the ground doesn’t become too high and drain water in through the windows (what happens when there’s snow out there?)

    I used to know the girlfriend of the guy who made those goose lamps, he was very rich as a result.

    • Nijma Says:

      The snow doesn’t get that deep in Chicago, at least not all over, although it may drift in places. Basement windows are typically sealed except for laundry exhaust from the dryer. This one is in a laundry room, but I think the basement tenant uses it for ventilation.

      Drainage doesn’t seem to be a big problem here except near downspouts. The soil is quite sandy, being in an ancient lake bed. (Lake Michigan used to be much larger in antiquity–Ridge Road marks the prehistoric lakeshore–this part was under water.) If you dig down about three feet you come to a layer of clay about 6 inches thick, then sand again. Whereever I had drainage problems in the old property, I built a dry well (filled with rocks) going well past this clay layer to contain some water and drain it down to the next layer of sand.

      I was also told that this whole neighborhood was once a dump. My apartment leans towards the street, the kitchen in the back being the high point, the dining room which I have appropriated for the computer is still somewhat level, but the living room in front with all the boxes of books is a bit dizzying in its slope. I don’t know what would have been dumped here. The lake I walk to was a dump for slag from a nearby refinery.

    • Nijma Says:

      Wow, this is really sad–about the goose lamp:
      http://artboxproject.net/artbox_store/GOOSE-LAMP.htm
      Well, $89… maybe not so sad…and “Delightfully tacky, yet unrefined”..I think they have captured its essence. I remember how the skydivers latched onto the pink flamingos for their weekend tent villages.

      as seen on “Martha Stewart Show”

      GOOSE LAMP IS BECOMING EXTINCT!!!!
      only few are left…order yours today.

      Our goose lamp has now officially become extinct.

      After almost 40 years of making the Goose, we are sorry to say that its manufacturer:
      Union Products is out of business. They now have closed their doors forever.

      Gone is the Goose, original Pink Flamingo, Plastic Fawn., Norm the Gnome and all plastic Santas one can ever think of.

      We have been lucky to retain a small stock of these Geese which we make into Lamps and are making them available to whoever decides to get this precious piece.
      The Goose Lamp is now a true collectors item and it’s value can only go up with time.
      Last chance to get your’s now. Make a wise investment into your children’s college fund…..
      Remember. Once they are gone, that’s it. No more Goose and Goose Lamp.

      Original Goose design by Don Featherstone, who started at Union as modelmaker and has worked his way up all the way to become its president.

      “Delightfully tacky, yet unrefined”

      This lifesize goose lamp does not need any food but plenty of lovin’ and
      i t will glow with happiness in exchange.
      Mounted on a heavy steel base with foam feet to protect hardwood floors.
      Complete with cord and switch.
      Max. 60 watt lightbulb not included.

      OUR PRICE: $89.00


Comments are closed.