Yard

A while back I was planning a garden in the back of the house.

Today it’s finished, even if a little worse for the frost.  The square thing over the sewer lid cover was an addition by the landlord.  It’s an old concrete post support that we dug out of the side yard a few weeks ago.  He says it’s to keep the kids from messing with the lid, but I think he just likes it.
garden back of house

There’s something about the balance between the two sides that doesn’t quite feel right, but I can’t figure out how to fix it.  Maybe when the plants come up in the spring it will make it better. I have more gray limestone paving stones I could use to edge it, but I don’t think that would help. Maybe a whole different and larger shape to that garden on the right, like maybe following the angle of the driveway…

I took the plant divisions from this garden–hosta, iris, jade–so it should look something like this when it comes up in the spring:

UPDATE: an experiment in proportions. Of course it always look different when you actually put the shovel in the ground.
backyard1A backyard2A backyard3A

I’m sort of leaning towards the last one, a sort of trapezoid,  since a tiny strip of grass by itself is hard to maintain.

Posted in Green. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Yard”

  1. A. J. P. Crown Says:

    Lovely, Nij, but I agree, I think you should just make the right-hand side larger, a rectangle. The symmetry’s doing nothing for you here. Some asymmetry will be more interesting, dynamic, we’re not talking Versailles here.

  2. A. J. P. Crown Says:

    (Please remove the second ‘here’. And the first one too.)

  3. Nijma Says:

    *sigh*

    Oh, all right, AJP, but I kinda like the “here’s. They make you sound charismatic.

    I’m glad you said that about the garden; as soon as I read it I knew you were right. Part of the garden work is about transforming the dross of human existence into something more pleasant, in however small increments, heaven knows this building could use some better vibes.

    I don’t really like Versailles, not even enough to go look at it when I was in France (for a verrry limited time), but I did visit Josephine’s Malmaison.

  4. A. J. P. Crown Says:

    I’m sort of leaning towards the last one, a sort of trapezoid, since a tiny strip of grass by itself is hard to maintain.

    Yeah, you don’t need the strip of grass; you’ll just end up mowing your plants. Ideally when everything’s flourishing and grown up you won’t even see clearly defined edges; unless you want to of course.


Comments are closed.