Blessed Eid

Eid mubarak!

Today is Eid al-Adha, the “greater Eid”, to honor those returning from a Mecca pilgrimage, as distinguished from the “lesser Eid”, the three day party following the month of Ramadan.  The graphic says “Eid Mubarak” عيد مبارك (blessed Eid) in Arabic and is adapted from a design from artist Salma Arastu (link to her website).

A quick glance at some mosque websites shows Adams Center in DC is collecting donations for a relief fund for the families of the victims at Fort Hood.  Why am I not surprised. (The button for prayer times in my right sidebar is a link to Adams.)

My local mosque?  The last time I heard, they were collecting donations to pay for a billboard to try to convert people to their religion.  And I thought Moslems weren’t supposed to proselytize.  Tsk.

Posted in Islam. Comments Off on Blessed Eid