Artificial language

The movie Avatar has just been released.  It’s in 3D, but I watched it in a four-inch window here.  While no money was wasted creating a new plot–they just recycled the same old sci-fi plots that have been used for years–quite a bit of effort was spent on the effects and on the language.  It has an artificial language, Na’vi, created just for the movie, an improvement over devices like Yoda-style English accent that inspired this Yoda-speak generator.

Constructed languages are nothing new.  Omniglot lists several dozen “con-scripts”, alphabets constructed by readers. In the meantime Yoko Ono (thanks, Marilyn Richardson!) is commemorating the 1969 “War is over if you want it”  campaign with downloadable posters in 60 languages, including Klingon, Chethlonian (???–Hebrew Hethlon?), Kamakawi and Lojban.

Image: “War is over” in Klingon.

5 Responses to “Artificial language”

  1. Catanea Says:

    Well, my younger daughter has seen “Avatar” in “3D” at the cinema. I had really no interest, but as you “offered” it I had a look at your link, but I’m afraid it was so uninteresting, that I opted out after about 45 minutes. But I thank you for making the link available. (I WAS able to watch it in a sort of wide screen: oooh….it must be 370mm wide. Not nuffin.)
    Thank-you.
    a/c

  2. Nijma Says:

    The only reason I made it to the end of “Avatar” is that I was doing chores at the same time. It’s not fair to comment on a film unless you’ve seen it, but now that I’ve seen it, I don’t have a comment. It’s probably the kind of movie you would see with children, with enough skimpy costumes to keep the adults from yawning.

  3. Brian Barker Says:

    I like neither Na’vi nor Klingon, as the future global language. Especially when you have to dress up for it :)

    We also need a future international language. One which is easy to learn, as well !

    And that’s not English! Esperanto? Let’s move forward :)

    At least Bill Shatner speaks Esperanto. Have a look at http://eurotalk.com/en/store/learn/esperanto or http://www.lernu.net

  4. James Says:

    Chethlonian is my constructed language, which has been a presence in my life for as long as I can remember, though naturally its not as famous as the others it is mentioned with here.

    Interesting proposed origin, although Chethlonian is an entirely constructed, new language, with no derivational relationship to any existing language, other than the purely coincidental

    http://chethlen.webs.com/

    (Still being updated)

    James


Comments are closed.