Dusk

Ice shards form in puddles, as the temperature drops below freezing…

…and the sun goes down.

5 Responses to “Dusk”

  1. canehan Says:

    Irrelevant, but it appears your neighbour (third photo down) is a radio amateur, from the Yagi aerial on the roof. Love the ice photos. I have much enjoyed your recent posts on subjects so esoteric for me – much time spent listening and with click-thrus. Lucky I have that time. How you put so much depth on your blog while still working amazes me !

    And the photo from Madaba .. I had friends in Amman who were from an old Madaba family, thus Christian. And when we saw the Jerusalem map, it wasn’t fenced off. The old sexton simply pulled aside an old piece of lino which was covering it, which rather shocked us. But then that was early 1974 and we were the only visitors that day, probably that week or month ….

  2. Nijma Says:

    When I lived in Madaba there were whole busloads of tourists (speaking German and dressed in shorts [!]) pulling up to the church constantly. When it was time for a church service, they just rolled a carpet over the mosaic. There is a rather interesting painting downstairs of “Fatima of the blue hand”, which grew a third miraculous (blue) hand when no one was looking. She has been said to have healed people, including Moslems. I should dig out some of those photos and post them.

    The antenna didn’t even register, but of course everyone here has either rabbit ears or cable. I grew up in a tiny town 60 miles from the nearest TV station (once TV was invented). Back then, everyone had an antenna on their roof.

    I’m amazed that anyone has been reading the poetry excursions. I ‘m not sure what I’m trying to do with them, maybe trying to find out what makes a poem immortal, specifically thinking of Leonard Cohen’s work, and maybe also thinking more generally of modernism, which still puzzles me. It is frustrating to go only so far and not have time to pursue the many more questions that are raised for me, put them in more readable form, etc., but at this point I don’t have the time (or background) to go further.

    I don’t think a good poem can be broken down into meter, rhyme etc., any more than good photography can be broken down into contrast, focus, etc., but focusing on various technical aspects of photography has helped me recognize and appreciate good photography when I see it, and hopefully has helped me in constructing my own photos. I suppose you have to master all of those other techie things, then when you see something worth preserving, you’re “in the zone” and can capture it.

  3. canehan Says:

    When we were last in Madaba, in 1999, they had put a solid rialing around the map. We were never told about the Madonna down in the crypt. We had our 10-year-old neice with us, and at Mt,. Nebo, one of tghe tourist police, who sai dshe reminded him of his daughter, broke a small twig and leaf off the tree the Pope planted and presented it to her !

    Then all the tourist police lined up with Katiue in the middle for a group photo. We were the only tourists they had seen all day, apparently.

    I have a problem with modern poetry which was rehearsed at length on LH some time ago. I just don’t “get it”, and feel it is simply prose broken up into arbitrary line lengths, which only very occasionally seem mto me to affect the reading. I think it exists because there is no other conventional format for very short prose observations.

    Bu tthen I’m ny kulturny, as the Russians would say, in that area.

  4. canehan Says:

    …solid railing …

  5. Nijma Says:

    I’ve never seen a solid railing, maybe it was for the pope’s visit? I was elsewhere that day, but friends told me the Moslem boys were busy in the crowd that day with their little hobby of trying to grope women, while the plain clothes police were busy inconspicuously whisking them away. Wasn’t it in February though, of 2000? I’ve posted some photos of the church now: https://camelsnose.wordpress.com/2010/03/08/st-george-church/

    One hint about the poetry is that some say they like to read it out loud, which means it must be the sound itself that is important. I have caught glimmers of what they are talking about, but hope to make a more thorough study at some point.

    If you look at how Leonard Cohen reworked Lorca’s “Little Viennese Waltz”
    http://www.webheights.net/speakingcohen/waltz.htm
    for “Take this Waltz”

    or how he has melded the 7th c. Jewish prayer Unetaneh Tokef
    http://www.examiner.com/x-7069-Philadelphia-Judaism-Examiner~y2009m9d17-The-mystery-of-Unetaneh-Tokef-A-prayer-borne-of-medieval-martyrdom-or-a-7th-c-Palestine-poet
    so gracefully into “Who by Fire”

    This is what I’m talking about, when poetry expresses something profound that you can’t necessarily explain in words.


Comments are closed.