Looking for whooping cranes

When I was walking around the lake today, someone leaned out of a truck and told me there were whooping cranes at the other end of the lake. Checking Wikipedia, I find they are an endangered species and there are only about 250 whooping cranes left in the wild.  I did hear some whooping sounds, but this is the creature I found.   Paul (in the comments) thinks it’s a swan.

They seem to like to feed at the edge of the ice.

This one is very photogenic and let me get quite close to it.

The Duck
Behold the duck.
It does not cluck.
A cluck it lacks.
It quacks.
It is specially fond
Of a puddle or pond.
When it dines or sups,
It bottoms ups.

Ogden Nash

Yum, yum.

4 Responses to “Looking for whooping cranes”

  1. canehan Says:

    Nijma: To me, those are swans, not whooping cranes. Look at the latter here, particularly the head and beak. We have swans on our local pond and they look identical to those you pictured.

  2. Nijma Says:

    I think you’re right. Where I grew up we don’t have either swans or whooping cranes. The lake has a hidden pond, I will have to go back and look there (if the pond is open yet). I have seen absolutely huge birds there before. Also there is a creek that is flowing already, not surprising since we have had rains.

  3. Catanea Says:

    Do cranes swim? They wade. They strike at the water and grab fishes & frogs. Well, maybe I’m over-conflating cranes with storks (not much difference except for the ruffles?)

  4. Nijma Says:

    I suspect the very large birds I once saw might have been migrating… although who knows. But this is a city, and quite a large one. They would do better to continue north to a quiet place in Wisconsin.


Comments are closed.


»