Gesundheit

“We all smile in the same language,” was the declaration at the bottom of the personalized notepad of the ESL director where I got my first teaching job. It worked for her, but for me it would be a bit too saccharine.

Today during class, in the midst of sniffles and “bless you”‘s, it occurred to me that we all sneeze in the same language. But what we say afterwards suddenly became obsessively interesting to me. The Hispanic students say “salud”, or health. The students from Haiti say “Dieu te benisse”, pronounced something like deeu tay beNEESS, and meaning “God bless you”. They gave the French automatically, but were quite pleased when I asked for the Creole, which is “Bondye beniw” or bless you, pronounced something like bonDIAY buNEW. And in Amharic, the official language of Ethiopia,

pronounced something like maasNETtess, and also meaning bless you.

2 Responses to “Gesundheit”

  1. canehan Says:

    In France, one generally says : A tes souhaits – may you get your wishes – roughly ah tay sways. Dieu te benisse would be thought very old fashioned here, or maybe a priest would say it.

  2. Nijma Says:

    canehan,
    Thanks, that should be interesting for my students too. I have heard that the English of St. Vincent, which was once under British rule, has retained a lot of the characteristics of Shakespearian English. One example I heard from someone who lived there was something like “I vixen her, she vixen me” describing a quarrelsome marriage.

    Regarding wishes, there is a joke here in Spanish–if someone sneezes once, you say “salud”, meaning health. At the second sneeze you say “dinero” meaning money. At the third sneeze, you say “amor” meaning love. People rarely sneeze a fourth time — they are too busy chuckling at hearing love wished for last.


Comments are closed.