Writes like

The London Review of Books blog is sending people to a site called “I write like” to paste in samples of their writing, have it analyzed, and find out what famous author they write like. The site informed me I write like someone called Cory Doctorow, who I never heard of before.  It turns out that besides writing science fiction, he has written for the blog Boing Boing and has also been associated with the Electronic Frontier Foundation, which I have linked to many times both here and on other blogs.  One of his short stories is open source and can be read online in its entirety. I haven’t really read any science fiction since its golden age back in the 70’s, but I was intrigued enough to read this one to the end, something I rarely do these days.

Posted in Books. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Writes like”

  1. artandhistory Says:

    Tried it a few days ago; a nice cyber-parlor game. Enter a few other samples and you’ll get different results. Then take a look at: http://www.cnn.com/2010/LIVING/07/20/i.write.like.authors.website/index.html

    I admit to a Yesss! moment when told I write like David Foster Wallace. But then H. P. Lovecraft? Damn, I’m good.

  2. Nijma Says:

    Too funny, maybe CNN would hire me since I have already mastered their style. :~)


Comments are closed.