Downloading a Vanhal album

Now that my CD burner compatibility issues have been sorted out, I have tried downloading a CD from an online store. Here’s how to do it, sort of.  It didn’t go altogether smoothly, but did produce a usable CD.

For the last couple three months, I have been listening to this remarkable recording of Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli playing Chopin (you can listen to samples of all the movements at that website), as well as some compositions by Johann Baptist Vanhal (wikipedia), a talented contemporary of Chopin Haydn.  Now, the same person who recommended those gave me the link to this download of Vanhal string quartets (more samples you can listen to at this website).

I would have been happier if they hadn’t been in MP3 format, which doesn’t sound as nice with my good speakers, but just the same, the download took around two hours.  Before starting the download, I copied and pasted the link.  Good thing I did, because the always-steady public library wifi dropped the connection and I had to restart it.

(Unfortunately I discovered one of the movements ends abruptly; it only lasts a little over a minute instead of more than 5 minutes, but I downloaded the file again and I have it.  Now I just have to burn a new CD.)
For any one else who want to download this album and just happens to have a disk drive that can burn Lightscribe labels, here are the four images I used to burn the label side of the disk. (clickable)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

9/4/10 updated image for playlist, image burns clearer

Posted in music. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Downloading a Vanhal album”

  1. Noetica Says:

    Excellent! But note, Nijma: Vaňhal’s life (May 12, 1739 – August 20, 1813) hardly overlaps with Chopin’s (1 March 1810 – 17 October 1849). We think more readily of Haydn (31 March 1732 – 31 May 1809). Haydn is usually invoked as the pioneer of the string quartet genre, but Vaňhal had a big hand in its development also. (He sometimes played quartets with Haydn, Mozart, and Dittersdorf; so there was a lot of synergy.) It is a mystery that recordings are lacking for most of the copious and enormously engaging Vaňhal output. But I do have a theory to account for this blinkered stupidity.

  2. Nijma Says:

    Of course, Haydn. Whatever was I thinking of.

    Even the liner notes for the Kubin Quartet CD say some of Vanhal’s work may have been published under Haydn’s name.

  3. Kim Says:

    I am interested in seeing if anyone knows any information about a painting I purchased years ago. It is signed by Paha ska. The painting is of a deceased Indian and his horse. The Indian is above ground and his horse is underneath him and I am guessing it is spirits in the back ground on the top of the painting. Any information would be appreciated.. Thanks


Comments are closed.