Feeling the ground

The foot feels the foot when it feels the ground.
–Buddha

In the continuing saga of my ankle surgery with no health insurance, I have  been told that I *can* now put 25% of my body weight on my toe. The difference between can=permission and can=ability is painfully obvious here as I can only manage 30 pounds without pain. Unless it means that I only weigh 120 pounds. Highly unlikely, that, although I have surprisingly lost some 20 pounds during the last few months of forced inactivity.

I have just come across a photo of the first time I learned to walk at 9-some months.  I looked much more cheerful that time.

8 Responses to “Feeling the ground”

  1. dwilmsen Says:

    نجمة

    الف حمدلله عالسلامة

    د

  2. catanea Says:

    Awwww!
    Keep getting better!

  3. Nijma Says:

    Thanks, I’m beginning to feel myself surrounded by good wishes. I can’t help but improve.

    catanea, I always love to look at the calligraphy on your website. You may be interested in these Arabic calligraphy downloads:

    Arabic Calligraphy: Naskh Script for Beginners“The first stroke-by-stroke guide ever produced for learning to write Naskh, one of the six major cursive Arabic scripts. Its origins can be traced back to the late eighth century AD and it is still in use today, over 1300 years later. The Ottoman Turks considered Naskh the script most suited for copying the Qur’an and today more Qur’ans are copied in Naskh throughout the Islamic world than in all other Arabic scripts combined. This introductory workbook makes it possible for everyone to learn and enjoy the beauty of Arabic calligraphy. Based on his experience of running workshops and demonstrations at The British Museum and other cultural institutions around the UK, Mustafa Ja’far has created an easy-to-follow, teach-yourself guide.” [in English -N]

    Teach Yourself Arabic Calligraphy: Five Scripts “The book offers an introduction to all the major styles of calligraphy present in in the Arab east: Naskh, Thuluth, Ruq’a, Nasta’liq, Diwani… Unfortunately, no Maghrebi scripts represented, and no Kufic either.

    “Those scripts are Ottoman and post-Ottoman in nature, so people studying Ottoman (and to some extent Persian, because of Nasta’liq) can profit from the book. However, all the instructions are in Arabic, including the beautiful Diwani example sentences in the back.” [in Arabic -N]

    Rules of Arabic Calligraphy “Booklet (rules of Arabic calligraphy) line of the late Dean of the Arabic calligraphy / Hashim Mohammed al-Baghdadi, a teacher at the Institute of Fine Arts, Baghdad, which contains a set of types of lines written in 1381” [in Arabic -N]

    Arabic calligraphers Kelk 2010 (Portable) “Today, Arabic calligraphers are becoming very scarce, in a world dominated by electronic arts and media. As most today’s digital arts were developed in the west, there are more and more challenges that face the Arabic calligraphy. Very few, if any, computer applications are designed to help developping the Arabic calligraphy and conserve its uniqueness compared to the Latin typo. One little exception that I’m aware of is a software called “Kelk” by SinaSoft(www.kelk.ws) which is basically an Arabic calligraphy software that allows you to compose Arabic words and designs in several Arabic calligraphy styles.” [This looks like you could teach yourself how to use it if you had some time to spare. The “Paint” program that comes with Windows also has some Arabic scripts. -N]

    Also the NYT has a short slide show of Koranic calligraphy and tools, and at Google Books there is a chapter on women’s roles in Arabic calligraphy.

  4. canehan Says:

    Nijma: I’m trespasssing on your site to get a message to catenea, as I can’t find how to comment on her site (technologically challenged again).

    So, catenea, I was amused by the Herissons calligraphy as my local country doctor in France is Dr. Herisson, who to us is evidently Dr Hedgehog. (He is excellent and has helped us much in the past.)

  5. Nijma Says:

    Oh, no problem. People do all kinds of things here. Mostly I just watch. After all, I don’t pay for this.

    If she doesn’t turn up in a reasonable length of time, I might have some other ideas.

    • catanea Says:

      Sorry, Canehan. I don’t actually know how to comment there either. And I wouldn’t have taken space on Tumblr if I had known how it was supposed to “tumble”! There is an “ask” button, I THINK. Maybe you are supposed to “ask” instead of comment? I’ve never tried that either.
      Feel free to just copy off the hedgehog sign if you think your friends would be amused.
      Thank-you, Nij! I’ll check those out soon (right after I finish my reading assignment from Julia and…). Today is dedicated to a specific task of preparation for an upcoming course, so I cannot just laze around on the internet all day.
      Thank you. And I hope your ankle is still improving!
      Warm thoughts from
      catanea


Comments are closed.